Past news from 1996

Polygram have confirmed the 'scheduled' release date of the "Obscurities" and "Restless Natives" album(s) for 24th March 1997. They may be released as a double album or as two single albums.

All the following is taken from Issue 38 of Country Club Magazine:
Of the new BC album Stuart says : "As far as more Big Country recording is concerned, that will happen in due course. I feel that we need more time to regroup and revitalise our recording career instead of recording for the sake of it. We have been together for fifteen years so far, so I don't feel there's any point in rushing the next record."

On the subject of his solo album he had this to say: "The majority of my country record is written (although I'm still putting together more material) and I'm just waiting for the right people to come together to finalise the recording, hopefully very soon. It's difficult to write down a sound but it will be more country than folk. That's why I want to work with American musicians. I want to bring a twist and a punkier edge to it".

Mark will be working with the reformed "Crazy World of Arthur Brown". Bruce will be working with Fish on an Alex Harvey tribute album. Tony is working on his own album probably to be released through his own record label - Great Western Records (he lives in Cornwall - the West Country).

Polygram has put back the release of the "Obscurities" (tracks voted for by fans) and the long-awaited "Restless Natives Soundtrack" CD's to the spring of 1997. There is still a "solo" album from Stuart and a Celtic album with Carol Laula to come as well as an album from "Generation X" - the rest of BC. There is also a new BC album planned for release 'early' in 1997.

Eclectic cover
  1. River Of Hope (4:07)
  2. King of Emotion (4:10)
  3. Big Yellow Taxi (3:51)
  4. The Buffalo Skinners (5:58)
  5. Summertime (3:58)
  6. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (3:44)
  7. Eleanor Rigby (3:47)
  8. Winter Sky (4:07)
  9. Sling It (3:04)
  10. I'm On Fire (2:40)
  11. Where The Rose Is Sown (4:10)
  12. Come Back To Me (4:43)
  13. Ruby Tuesday (4:15)
This album was released today and, in Northampton, was 10.99 at HMV & Our Price and 13.00 at Spinadisc. The cassette was 5.99 (only at HMV).

The CD catalogue no is: TRA CD 234        Total running time: 52:35
   and the cassette is: TRA MC 234
The album features Steve Harley (ex Cockney Rebel) and Kym Mazelle with additional musicians Bobby Valentino (violin), Aaron Emerson (Keyboards), and Hossam Ramzy and Mohammed Toufiq on 'bongos'.

Back to the "News just in..." page
Back to the "I hope you like it!" main page.